Skip to content

Elliptical dear… I kinda hate you, kay?

October 6, 2009

Hey guys! How’s everybody? Good, I hope.

So, yesterday I forgot to take photos of the rest of my meals. But here’s what I ate.
Lunch didn’t stay for long so at 4:30pm I was really hungry again. I had 5 mini toasts with strawberry jam and a small glass of milk;
Dinner was soup and a kiwi;

Caught up with some TV shows and went to bed at 11pm. It took a while to fall asleep though. I hate when that happens.

Today I woke up at 7am and prepared the breakfast.

Weetabix biscuit + coconut yogurt and a small banana.

This was good. I wasn’t full but felt satisfied.
Got ready and went to catch the train. GYM TIME!
I had a appointment with my PT and boy did I feel it this time. 15 minutes on the treadmill to warm up. Then strength training, which I definitely need. It wasn’t HORRIBLE, but I definitely struggled at times. The PT is cool though, encouraging and making me try harder. Cause god knows sometimes I just wanna get up and leave. Everytime I made a face because OH NOES NOT AGAIN he laughed and said “Don’t make that face! Come on!” But it’s really frustrating realizing that I’m not strong at all. I know, I know, that’s why I’m there… Doesn’t mean it doesn’t frustrate me. :p
Then elliptical. I LOATHE that thing. Really. Hate. It.
Let me explain… I’ve always had trouble breathing when I ran and did more demanding stuff. I can run, but not for long periods of time. At age 10 or 11 I was diagnosed with asthma and had an inhaler for when I needed it.
Now, as I’ve already said, I’ve never been one to exercise before, so I just didn’t need it. And stopped using it altogether. And the elliptical, man… It pushes me. And I CAN’T BREATHE. I couldn’t take it. I tried but after 5 minutes he said I could stop. He told me I have to keep trying and I will, even if it’s just those 5 minutes until I’m comfortable and then 7 minutes and then 10, etc. But I may have to see a doctor about it too because this is no way to live. 😐

We also work a lot on my posture because apparently I have really bad posture. Which sucks for my back and neck.
After an hour or so, we did some stretches and that was it.

Going up and down stairs was really funny after that. πŸ˜€ For other people, at least. Cause I was in pain, guys. :p

Anyway, after the shower, time to catch the train.

Resting my legs ihihi And listening to some music (Lily Allen) on my ancient mp3 player.

Came home, told my mom (who’s home this week! Tomorrow’s her birthday!) what I’d done at the gym and then we started preparing lunch. It was for the two of us + my brother. I suggested sweet potato fries (she suggested hamburgers). And so we prepared the sweet potato. Yep, we only had one and the thing was HUGE.

It took a while for them to be ready (45 minutes, I think). Meanwhile my stomach was making weird noises so I had an liiiittle apple.

You can’t see it there obviously but it was really small ahah

After the fries were done, my mom grilled the hamburgers and we had some leftover veggies from their dinner last night so we added those to the mix. Here’s the finished product.

This was the first time I had sweet potato fries and I must say I’m a fan! What do you usually add to your sweet potato fries? What seasoning? Let me know so I can try it next time!

That’s it for now friends. I’m going to talk with my brother, we’re trying to decide what gift we’re gonna buy for my mom’s birthday!
Cya later!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 3:00 pm

    Diana, CUTE SHOES! πŸ˜‰

    I like my SP fries spicy! I always add salt and pepper and chili powder.

    I know ALOT of people love cinnamon on them. πŸ™‚
    Happy tuesday!

    • October 6, 2009 3:34 pm

      Ya like? They’re new! πŸ˜€

      Hmmm, spicy! I’ll try that next time.
      Yeah! I remembered that about the cinnamon but I think then they would be too sweet for me. I-ll probably just try once just because I’m curious ahah
      Happy tuesday to you too!

  2. October 6, 2009 3:26 pm

    Hey, nice name!

    I feel ya on the exercise. I do not love to do it, but nothing beats the feeling of having DONE it.

    Yay sweet potatoes!

    • October 6, 2009 4:02 pm

      Ditto, you have a nice name too eheh
      That’s very true πŸ˜€ Nothing beats the energy you feel afterwards.

  3. October 6, 2009 4:36 pm

    cute shoes! πŸ™‚

    i like putting smoked paprika on fries. yum.

    • October 6, 2009 7:21 pm

      Thank you!
      Paprika, I’ll make sure I remember that for next time eheh

  4. October 6, 2009 5:13 pm

    You are the only other person I have seen that has my same mp3 player, except I have mine in blue. Talk about ancient! I feel like I am the only without an ipod in this day and age, but I plan to use my old one until it breaks.

    I adore sweet potato fries! I like seasoning them with curry powder πŸ™‚

    • October 6, 2009 7:25 pm

      I never got around to buying another one. I’ve thought about it but there are other priorities so for now, this one will do! It’s not that bad.. I just have to chance music more often ahah 1GB is definitely not enough. Not even close!

      Curry powder! Thanks for the “tip”, I’ll have to try that too. πŸ™‚

  5. Callie permalink
    October 6, 2009 5:30 pm

    I usually do cinnamon on sweet potato fries too. I like the spicy idea though!

    I hate the elliptical too, but mostly because it’s boring. It would be really hard to commit to it with the breathing troubles you have. I hope you get it worked out soon!

    • October 6, 2009 7:29 pm

      I’m just thinking it would be too sweet with cinnamon? I don’t know, I’ll just have to try eventually and then I’ll tell you my verdict! eheh Spicy sounds awesome.

      Thank you! It’s pretty frustrating because I’m not that out of shape! I am obviously a bit but not that I can’t do that exercise. It’s just the breathing thing that prevents me from doing better and then I get annoyed and frustrated and it gets even worse. I might go to a doctor because of that, to see if he has a suggestion to make it better. Maybe they’ll give me an inhaler and that’ll make it easier.

  6. October 6, 2009 5:37 pm

    I love cayenne pepper on all kinds of fries. Cinnamon is good too.

    Your shoes are super cute! πŸ™‚

    • October 6, 2009 7:34 pm

      Cayenne pepper… Must try that one. I don’t think I’ve ever used it!
      Thank you! They’re new eheh Super comfortable too πŸ˜€

  7. October 7, 2009 2:39 am

    the elliptical = my arch nemesis. HATE IT!

    • October 7, 2009 7:58 am

      Yay! Finally someone who really understands me! ahah That thing is evil.

  8. October 7, 2009 12:47 pm

    Sounds like a great session with the PT. Take it one day at a time on that elliptical. You’ll improve for sure!
    I love sp fries. I think they’re great plain or with some bbq sauce.
    Btw, thanks for letting me know about the images on my blog. I fixed them – check out those pretty sunflowers now πŸ™‚

    • October 7, 2009 2:07 pm

      It was great! Of course today I’m really sore.. But it’s okay, I kinda like it πŸ˜€ And that’s exactly what I’ll do. I’ll conquer the elliptical. πŸ˜›

      Checked your blog just now. Sunflowers are so beautiful. πŸ™‚

  9. balanceinbites permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:53 pm

    Sometimes I put rosemary on my sweet potato fries… it gives them an entirely different flavor that’s pretty yummy.

    Good for your for sticking it out with the PT. Don’t worry about not being as strong, or fast, or whatever, as you’d like – it will come in time!

    -Allison (www.balanceinbites.com)

    • October 7, 2009 2:10 pm

      Rosemary… that’s a first! I’ll check it out. πŸ™‚

      Oh I know it will come. But it’s like a whole new battle. I’ve lost the weight and right now it feels like I’m just starting over you know? Oh well, I did it once… πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Healthy Diana

Leave a Reply

