Skip to content

Pancakes, birthday cake and… broccoli?

October 8, 2009

Good afternoon guys! I’m updating a little later than usual but sometimes real life gets in the way. πŸ˜‰

Yesterday I told you I was going to make some pancakes and that’s exactly what I did.

… And then I forgot to take pictures when they were done. πŸ˜› Silly, I know. But believe me when I say that they were sooo good. I had 3 (throughout the afternoon) and promised myself that I wouldn’t eat more. And I didn’t. It was nice seeing other people enjoying them though!

I also ate an apple at about 5pm so I wouldn’t be hungry before dinner time.

Dinner was something my mom made. She just made it up so it doesn’t really have a name. It had cod, spinach, potatoes, onion, etc. Oh and cheese on top.

It was REALLY good. I didn’t eat the cheese on top but I didn’t need it. I also didn’t eat too much because I felt that I was indulging too much. It was a little overwhelming, but honestly, I gotta remember that one thing here and there isn’t gonna make me gain weight again. So I didn’t stress for long.

And next my friends… The cake.
I honestly have no idea what’s in this cake, we bought it and it’s a special recipe of that restaurant. But dear god it was good. IT WAS STILL WARM.

I just know there was apple and caramel involved.

We sang happy birthday. πŸ™‚

And I had a piece. I had to. And it was totally worth it.

The roses my dad gave my mom. πŸ™‚

That was it yesterday. I was way too tired. Just read some blogs and went to bed!
Today I woke up at 6:45am, had the same ol’ breakfast (weetabix+yogurt+banana), got ready and went to the gym.

Filipa went with me. We walked 15 minutes on the treadmill, strength trained for an hour, I DID 10 MINUTES ON THE ELLIPTICAL (ahahah) and then stretched for a bit. It was a good morning at the gym I must say. I’m still sore from the session I had with the PT but it actually feels good, even if I’m aching all over.

Yep, we’re silly.

The gym has little lounge areas. We rested/talked a bit before heading home πŸ˜›

This is the train station where we always catch the train.

Got home at around noon. I wasn’t hungry at all but I should’ve eaten something because after about an hour I was starving.

My mom had made Caldo Verde so I had a plate of that. She uses her own (healthier) recipe though. No potatoes or chouriΓ§o for example. πŸ™‚ It’s just as tasty, honestly.

And then we made this:

Onion, broccoli, seitan, etc. It was really good actually! πŸ™‚

That’s it for now. I have to work a bit! πŸ™‚
Cya later.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 4:47 pm

    That is a beautiful train station!

    The cake looks delicious πŸ™‚

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    October 8, 2009 8:13 pm

    Have I mentioned how jealous I am of your camera?!! From food to the metro station – all your pics are fantastic!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    • October 8, 2009 8:17 pm

      Aw, thanks! But the one of the train station was taken with an old point and shoot! πŸ™‚

  3. October 8, 2009 10:14 pm

    The dish your mom made seems sort of like a frittata. It looks really good.

    PS. A good piece of birthday cake, especially with someone you love, is always worth it!

    • October 8, 2009 10:35 pm

      It was pretty yummy. It wasn’t exactly a frittata (I had to google that :P), she put it in the oven to cook. I don’t know, I’m such a terrible cook ahah

      Yeah, I agree. These are the kind of days I don’t wanna be too picky with my food. It’s just one day so.. who cares? πŸ™‚

  4. October 8, 2009 10:30 pm

    wow your pix are really really beautiful!

  5. October 9, 2009 2:42 am

    2 days of delicious looking meals. I’m especially jealous of the cake!

    • October 9, 2009 7:06 am

      πŸ™‚ The cake was amazing. πŸ™‚ There’s still lots of eat there, but I’m not the one who’s gonna eat it :p

      • October 9, 2009 7:23 am

        “lots of eat” ? lol that makes sense.
        “lots of IT” πŸ˜›

  6. October 9, 2009 7:57 am

    you’ve got SUCH amazing pictures…you even have a really attractive picture of a train station! And the stuff your mom makes looks AWESOME! I would have been the opposite…I would have picked out the cheese first! πŸ˜€

    • October 9, 2009 1:41 pm

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ Ahaha The train station is beautiful, it has nothing to do with my picture! πŸ˜‰

      Old me would definitely have done that but new me knew I wasn’t even that hungry. πŸ˜‰

  7. October 9, 2009 12:55 pm

    Nice job at the gym! Way to work it! Your gym has a lovely lounge area. That cake looks wonderful.

    • October 9, 2009 1:42 pm

      That gym is so fancy. A little intimidating at first but now… not so much. πŸ˜›

  8. October 9, 2009 1:58 pm

    that cake sounds amazing! and your pictures are beautiful

  9. October 9, 2009 3:37 pm

    Gosh I just love your pictures. I know I keep saying this right? πŸ˜€ Happy birthday to your mom! All the food looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

