Skip to content

New week YAY.

October 19, 2009

Hey friends!
Thank god, a new week is year. I really needed that week to be oooover and done with. A new week always feels like a new start for me. Of course, I’m lucky I don’t have a 9 to 5 job otherwise I would probably be dreading monday…

Anyway, sorry for the lack of post yesterday. It wasn’t because I was uber busy as you probably noticed I still read and commented on your blogs.. It’s just that I made a decision that I can have ONE day without recording my food and/or posting. I just didn’t feel like it and it’s good to have one day to myself. I also spent the day with a stupid toothache.. which caused a headache. Not very fun, is it? So I mainly just stayed home, watched tv shows and took some pills so the pain would stop. If it continues though I may go to the dentist for an emergency appointment. If it gets a little better, I’ll just call them to make an appointment for next week. We’ll just wait and see.

Soooo…

I actually took some pictures yesterday πŸ˜› So here they are:

Delicious grilled fish. Ate that with broccoli and green beans (and olive oil).

Spinach soup.

And todays’ breakfast is a novelty…

OATMEAL. (It sure is hard trying to make a bowl of oatmeal look good. But I tried. πŸ˜›
Yep, it was the first time I made – and ate – oatmeal.
I used water, low fat milk, oats (duh), a banana, cinnamon and after it was done I added a tbsp of strawberry preserves. I think I got the quantities right but I also think I should make a little less next time. But this was yummy! I think it makes an awesome breakfast, especially for winter! Now I just gotta make different variations, which is kinda exciting ahah Can’t wait to try the millions of versions I’ve seen around.

Now, something I’ve wanted to talk about here…
I think I’m gonna make some new adjustments in my eating habits. You see, I’ve been eating to lose weight. And while I still wanna lose a little bit more weight, not A LOT but 8 or 9 pounds, I also want to eat to fuel my workouts, and allow me to build new muscle, which I haven’t been doing. I avoid high calorie foods like the plague. Not even kidding. Nut butters freak me out, so do “real” nuts, and fatty foods. Those are a few examples. But truth is, I need fat. Healthy fat, in moderation of course. But I do need it and I’ve been avoiding it like my life depends on it. Which I know is wrong.

But this weekend, while I was hanging around at home kinda drugged from my painkillers (ahah) I started thinking about it, and to me, it makes total sense that this is the next step I must take on my journey to be a healthier me.
I’ll admit I’m a little afraid these foods will make me gain weight.. but I really need to find that balance in my life. And I think this is the right time!

Do you have any advice?

I leave you with the Picture of the Day! Today I have a self portrait to show you.

It’s time to get ready, I have a session with Mr. PT!

Have a great monday. πŸ™‚

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 1:00 pm

    Happy new week! I hope your tooth feels better soon.

    I think it’s very smart of your to add some healthy fats to your diet. Your body needs fat for so many things – your brain, for instance, needs fats to function properly. Yay nutbutters and oils! πŸ™‚

  2. October 19, 2009 1:30 pm

    Remember, all foods in moderation! Healthy fats are great and frankly, you don’t need a lot to make the difference! I find on the days that I am low on fat, I just don’t feel satisfied with my meals. Fat definitely helps me feel satiated and less binge-ful! Try cooking your veggies in olive oil. I’d say this is where a majority of my fat comes from. Roasting and sauteeing are two great methods! Also, you can add a TBSP of nut butter to your oatmeal and let it melt in.

    I have a hard time with nuts, just because I want to keep eating and eating – but I’ll have 1/2 an ounce of smokehouse almonds with a fruit for a snack and it totaly tides me over! Just remember to portion out the nuts and NOT eat them straight out of the container!

    Happy new week to you and to me too! I’ve got to rope myself together this week πŸ™‚

  3. October 19, 2009 1:49 pm

    Glad to hear you liked the oatmeal! There really are unlimited ways of making it so you can always find a way to fit your tastes!

  4. October 19, 2009 2:26 pm

    i think challenging yourself to do this is great – i like to think you are never going to gain weight or go out of control eating healthy food. and yes, you do need fat! don’t get freaked out! just adjust accordingly, and i think you will find yourself much more satisfied and enjoy your meals more!

    good luck – let me know if you have any other questions πŸ™‚

  5. October 19, 2009 3:27 pm

    You DEF need fats! Don’t cut ’em out!!!

  6. DiningAndDishing permalink
    October 19, 2009 3:44 pm

    Yay!! You made oatmeal,haha. Adding a spoon of peanut butter realllly makes the bowl yummy and it will help you with your goal of adding healthy fats. I highly recommend it!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  7. October 19, 2009 4:26 pm

    Your self portrait is beautiful–you have gorgeous skin!

  8. October 19, 2009 6:45 pm

    Mmmm, I love oatmeal, and like some of the previous comments say, I love to add peanut butter to it. I just add 1 tablespoon and it’s plenty. πŸ™‚ It’s so delicious too. I also enjoy the Emerald Almonds 100 calorie pack. It’s a great way to eat almonds without worry about the portion size. I like to cook with olive oil to get a little healthy fat in too. I cook eggs & veggies with olive oil. I think it adds a nice flavor too.

  9. October 19, 2009 7:42 pm

    First of all, I am so jealous that you don’t have a 9 to 5 job. I wish I didn’t.

    Second, your pictures are always gorgeous. Whether they are of you or your oatmeal. πŸ™‚

    Third, yeah nevermind, that was pretty much it.
    Have a great week!

  10. October 19, 2009 8:00 pm

    I’m starting to enjoy oatmeal myself now and trying new ways to eat it πŸ™‚

  11. October 19, 2009 8:31 pm

    I understand that high fat foods can be a bit scary. Even ones that are good fats!! But, trust your body – eat when you are hungry, and don’t over eat and you will be fine.

    Sorry you had a toothache yesterday!

    First time to your blog btw… love it!

  12. October 19, 2009 8:54 pm

    I’m a big fan of eating what you like, in moderation. (todays post was about just that)I’ve lost 104 pounds since January and I think a huge part of my success has been that I never feel “deprived”. Ultimately you have to find out what works for you tough.

    Your food looks yummy! I’m a pretty big oatmeal fan, how is it possible you’ve never had it? :)(or had you just never made it?) Either way, welcome to the world of quick, warm, yummy breakfasts!

  13. October 19, 2009 10:34 pm

    Definitely add some nut butter to your oatmeal. I eat that two or three mornings a week. I’d say that with nuts/nut butters, oils, etc., you need to focus on portion size as you work them into your diet. It’s easy for me to eat an entire jar of almond butter or pour half a bottle olive oil all over dinner, but I stick to the portion size to keep the calories down. I still measure any and all oil I add to my food. It really helps from getting out of control with my calories.

  14. October 19, 2009 11:41 pm

    Congrats on your first bowl of Oatmeal! That seems to be the star of almost every food blog.

    I think rather than asking for advice, you just need encouragement. You’re on the right path to eating healthy (allowing fats, allowing pretty much anything in moderation) and balancing your exercise. You know exactly what to do…so take it one day at a time and you’ll see success.

    Gorgeous self-portrait! Your photography skills are amazing!

  15. October 20, 2009 2:27 am

    i try to have a healthy fat and some kind of greens (either in food form or in supplement form) with each of my meals. i wasn’t trying to lose weight, and have lost (and am still losing) weight over the last 6 months. what camera do you have, by the way? your pix look great!

  16. October 20, 2009 9:56 am

    You’re right. You do need fat. Your body needs it to function properly. Try to start slow and incorporate foods that make you nervous. πŸ™‚ You’ll get there!

  17. October 20, 2009 11:46 am

    I’m glad you feel a fresh start with the new week!! πŸ˜€

    You do need the healthy fats, so maybe start out measuring some nut butter to make sure you are just getting one serving at first?

  18. October 20, 2009 2:54 pm

    Gorg! Love the self-portrait! πŸ™‚

    And yes, healthy fats girlie, you need them and your body will love you for it. Start off slow though if it freaks you out. Have a teaspoon of nutbutter mixed in oats. 1/2 an avocado, small piece of cheese, a little yogurt, things like that. Baby steps. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

