Skip to content

Decisions, decisions…

October 28, 2009

Hey everybody! Happy Wednesday!

I’m updating later than usual, I had some things to do this afternoon.

Let me see…

Yesterday was a rather weird day for my appetite. My cravings were all over the place. I tried to resist as much as I could or else I would’ve seriously spent the day eating.

I made this for my snack:

2 small apples + cinnamon + low fat coconut yogurt. One word: Yum.

Dinner was veggie soup and a lemon yogurt (I was craving something sweet so that did the trick).

Today I woke up earlier than usual (6:10am), spent some time in bed thinking about breakfast and what I’d make.

This was perfect. Weetabix biscuit + plain yogurt + a banana.

I went to the gym but I honestly wasn’t feeling it today. I did the usual and though I didn’t work as hard as I usually do, I still managed to break a sweat. When I was coming home I ran into a girl that used to be on my class when I was in… 5th grade. We live really close to each other but are rarely together. We started talking and talking and talking…. no kidding, we spent 1 hour just talking in the middle of the street ahah It was almost 2pm and we agreed that it was time to go home and have lunch. I gave her my card and we’ll probably have some coffee next week or something like that.

Came home and prepared lunch.

It’s another mix, really. There’s potato, fish, egg, veggies. I added some olive oil for (more) flavor. πŸ™‚

Then my brother and I went to take care of some stuff for his wedding.

I took a photo to show you my outfit πŸ˜›

Loose pants. :/ I bought these a month ago, less even. They’re the ones I posted a photo of when I first started the blog. They’re already loose. This has been happening with all my clothes. Which is normal but incredibly frustrating (and not very good for the wallet). To make matters worse… I’m between numbers! One size is too big and the lower size is a little snug.

Anyway, I tried two pairs of pants but ended up not buying any. Also tried a cute shirt on. I really liked how it looked… and then I saw the price. 26 euros for a shirt? It wasn’t even of great quality! I think not. I left it there.

Then we came home, chatted a bit and had a snack. My bro had two slices of bread with PB and blueberry jam. I wasn’t that hungry but I knew I had to eat. This seemed like a good idea.

I have no idea what I’m having for dinner but my appetite is a little, uh.. nonexistent today. We’ll see.

One thing I wanted to talk about… I’ve been thinking about this since the beginning of the week. I told you about my little scale freakout, right? Well, after reading some stuff and really thinking about it.. I’ve made a decision.

I will be weighing myself only once a month from now on. Now, I could say I won’t step on a scale for the remainder of 2009, but I honestly can’t make that commitment just yet. I admire those who can. But I want to do this. I don’t want it to control my mood anymore. I don’t want it to control ME anymore.

I have to face facts. I’m at a healthy weight. Is it my ideal weight? Not just yet. But I am getting there. I’ve been building new and healthier habits. I exercise pretty frequently and I eat better than most people I know. I know my body and how much food it needs.

It took me a long time to be in this position.. and I just want to enjoy it. I want to look in the mirror and like what I see. I don’t want to look at it and think “I gained two pounds… let me see what’s different… OMG MY THIGHS”… No. This is no way to live. A body doesn’t change like that, even if weight does.

So yes. This is my decision. I know that it’s what’s best for me.

I just wanna be free and enjoy my new body and my healthy living.

What do you think? Would you be able to ditch the scale?

Here’s todays’ picture.

This is “a piece” of Lisbon, my home city. πŸ™‚

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 9:42 pm

    You seem to have a really good attitude towards healthy eating and exercise, you’re doing great.

    I love your outfit. I was inbetween sizes for a while and had to wear belts in my jeans until I fit the next size.

  2. October 28, 2009 10:02 pm

    Love Weetabix.
    Love the feeling of pants getting loose. So exciting.
    Love shopping for new clothes! When not in between sizes of course haha.
    LOVE the idea of the scale only once a month. You’re doing awesome!

  3. littlemissminny permalink
    October 28, 2009 10:27 pm

    I’m always inbetween sizes. I have a small waist, but pretty strong thigs,so it’s virtually impossible to find a good pair of pants. I’d love to visit Portugal, I hope I will some day

  4. October 28, 2009 11:29 pm

    Cute outfit!

    Definitely ditch the scale. Use it to make sure you’re healthy and maintaining…but too often was stressing you out too much and that’s not healthy.

    I’m trying not to stress over my missed class. I’m even treating myself to a glass of wine while I read blogs and watch TV!

  5. October 29, 2009 12:45 am

    I’ve been wanting to do the same with the scale, but I don’t think I’m brave enough/ready. You DO sound ready though. Kudos to you! I really believe that you can do it, and that you’ll feel better because of it. =D

  6. Mish permalink
    October 29, 2009 1:51 am

    when I could eat wheetbix I loved them.

  7. DiningAndDishing permalink
    October 29, 2009 2:27 am

    Your pic of Lisbon is gorgeous!! How lucky that you’re from there. I visited a few years ago and had an awesome time – beautiful city!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. October 29, 2009 4:28 am

    I think that’s smart, Diana! Throwing away the scale (well, not totally, but close enough) will be a huge release off your shoulders. I can’t wait to toss mine out the minute I hit a healthy weight.

  9. October 29, 2009 6:28 am

    Hi!
    The light in Lisbon looks stunning on the yellow building.
    The scales. I have a love/hate relationship with them, because on one hand too much weighing has you thinking about every morsel you ate, but on the other hand they are a good reality check. I think your idea to weigh once a month is a happy medium.
    ~ Emily.

  10. October 29, 2009 10:24 am

    You look fantastic.
    hip in a way I never seem to achieve.

    I wont chime in on the scale as all I know is what works for me.
    I weigh at the dr (did yesterday at an urgicare pace and hadnt since last checkup) and the rest of the time look to a pair of jeans I know should fit EASILY and loosely when Im at my regular weight!

  11. October 29, 2009 1:30 pm

    I ditched the scale a number of months ago and am so much happier. No matter what the number was, it was never good enough and would cause all sorts of behaviors that I don’t want to have anymore. So, no more scale for me.

  12. lowandbhold permalink
    October 29, 2009 1:38 pm

    That’s cool that you ran into an old friend. And good job with deciding not to weigh every day. If your pants are fitting loose, then obviously you’re doing what you should be doing!

  13. October 29, 2009 2:28 pm

    Awesome on not weighing everyday! i love you for doing that! You will be a happy girl!! you are for sure headed in the right direction and that is all that matters! xoxox

  14. October 29, 2009 5:24 pm

    delicious eats…especially apples with coconut yogurt.

    It has taken me 22 years to be able to come face to face with food and manup to my problems (aka binge eating)…I used to binge eat every day and now I go with prolly a good month without doing it πŸ™‚ We all have struggles and only WE know what is best for our own body. I’m glad you came to your decision and that you are happy with it πŸ™‚

  15. October 29, 2009 5:24 pm

    I love that photo!

  16. October 29, 2009 6:22 pm

    Coconut yogurt?! Um, delicious much? hehe
    Your outfit is super cute. I’m a big fan of skinny jeans.

    That’s great you are making an effort in the battle with the scale. It’s a daunting contraption.

  17. October 29, 2009 7:30 pm

    I wrote a post about ditching the scale at the beginning of the week. I used to weigh myself often, but then my life revolved around a number, and my nutrition goals revolved around a number. I didn’t like it. Now I weight myself MAYBE once a month, just to keep myself on track. I eat according to how I feel and I monitor my health depending on how clothes fit, how much energy I have, etc. It’s liberating and I really would recommend it.

  18. October 29, 2009 8:34 pm

    i love running into old friends, the convo just starts flowing and then you realize an hour later that you were talkking for that long!

    the coconut yogurt sounds great! I need to look out for that!

    you have such a positive and healthy outlook on eating and exercise, its refreshing πŸ™‚

    i could certainly live without a scale I never use one. ever. I go by how my clothes fit and thats that! the only time i see my weight is at the doc office and even then I really don’t care…its just a number!

    have a great day!

  19. October 29, 2009 9:42 pm

    I weigh myself once a week, but only because I’ve started the shape up challenge and I want to keep up with it. Before that, I did it once a month like you. I think you’ll be really happy with the change! I love your positive attitude. : )

Trackbacks

  1. Late post. « Healthy Diana

Leave a Reply

