Skip to content

Blogs and family.

October 30, 2009

Hey guys! Happy friday!

How’s everybody? I hope you’re ok. I am ok, but I’m not in the best of moods honestly.
I’ll explain why in a bit.

So, today’s breakfast was as simple as can be so I didn’t even take a photo. 2 weetabix biscuits + low fat milk.
It didn’t satisfy me though so I ate a small pear. But no. I was craving BREAD. So I ended up eating a slice of bread with PB and blueberry preserves. It was delicious and hit the spot. Should’ve just eaten that to begin with.

Lunch was this.

Whole wheat bread + 2 scrambled eggs + a carrot. I was soooooo full after this. That bread is very rich and dense.

Five hours later I had a snack. A plum + another pear and a non fat pineapple yogurt.

Dinner was just eaten. I wasn’t hungry but I almost didn’t eat veggies today so I ate a few more at dinner.

Stew with beef and vegetables. They ate rice but I didn’t feel like it. I ate that little piece of beef and just concentrated on the veggies cause that’s what I was missing. It was a bit salty but that’s probably just me and my picky tongue. I’m used to “bland” things now so I always notice the salt in food. I ate another plum after dinner. What can I say, those are some good plums!

Now, I told you I wasn’t in a good mood, let me explain why. I was in the kitchen, setting the table and getting things ready. My mom was still cooking but we’ve done this before. My camera was there so I could take a photo of my dinner. It wasn’t in the middle of the table, it was in a corner, minding its own business (lol). So, my mom picks it up and starts going on about how it’s not NORMAL that the camera is in the kitchen. And it sort of went downhill from there and I just ate as fast as I could and got the hell out of there.

I’ve hinted at her that I have a blog, but she probably doesn’t remember. It just hurt my feelings and I haven’t really told her about the blog and what its about because I don’t think she would understand. I don’t know.

Does your family know about your blog? Do they understand/support your blogging?

I’m just glad that today is (almost) over, honestly. I think I’m gonna watch a horror movie in honor of your Halloween and then I’m gonna call it a day.

Picture of the day

Hope you have a good friday, guys. πŸ™‚

PS: Zesty is having another blog makeover giveaway so go check it out!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 9:34 pm

    My parents know I have a blog, but that I like it to be my thing, just for me not my family. I tell them it’s like writing a diary, but you get opinions of people you don’t know, which can be a real great source of support. Once I explained they realised how much it’s been helping me and appreciate the fact I don’t share it with them. The good thing is when I take photos of my meal they don’t think I’m strange.

  2. lowandbhold permalink
    October 30, 2009 9:35 pm

    Nope my family doesn’t know, and I think they’d be the same way if I tried to explain it. It sucks, I’m jealous of the bloggers who are so open about it and everyone in their lives know/support it.

    Your lunch looks good though πŸ™‚

  3. October 31, 2009 12:49 am

    I have heard other people say that their families don’t understand or don’t really support their blogging efforts. I don’t really understand this very much. I guess I’m just lucky that my parents are completely ok with it, and actually read it themselves. Nick, my bf whom I live with, loves that I blog, but at the same time I think he gets jealous of it sometimes πŸ™‚ He’s never admit it, but he does.

  4. October 31, 2009 2:14 am

    My family knows about mine, but they don’t read it. It takes a little bit of getting used to, just try to show it to her and explain more so she can ease into it.

    I hope things get better : )

  5. Nicole permalink
    October 31, 2009 3:01 am

    I feel so lucky that my family fully supports my blog. My mom loves it and reads it everyday! I just told the rest of my family and they like it too, I think. It’s a huge part of my life and I can’t imagine them not supporting it. I did ease them into it, though. At first they didn’t really understand why I’d do something like that, haha.

    I hope your day gets better ❀

  6. October 31, 2009 3:32 am

    I hope things get better for you!

    My whole family knows I blog now but I kept it from them for quite a while. It took my mom a bit to catch on but she is really supportive now and even leaves me comments. πŸ™‚ You never know if your mom will get it or support you until you ask for it.

  7. October 31, 2009 4:33 am

    Aw, Diana…I’m sorry…but not everyone (well most people actually) don’t really know what blogs are, or why they even matter.
    My parents took awhile to get used to the idea of me having a blog, and sometimes they comment when I’m taking pictures, but I showed them some of my posts, and they read some of the comments from other bloggers, and they now LOVE my blog, and they think my readers are the sweetest people ever…perhaps you can just show your mom your blog and its community?

  8. October 31, 2009 12:14 pm

    i love your pictures!

  9. October 31, 2009 6:15 pm

    I love the pic of the day!

  10. October 31, 2009 9:18 pm

    My immediate family know and support the blog, but if my extended family found out, I would die. They would NOT be supportive. I’m sorry you’re going through that with your mom! I think it’s hard for non-bloggers or non-readers to understand the healthy-foodie bloggers. It does seem weird and compulsive if you don’t understand the hobby.

    On a lighter note, beautiful shot of your lunch!

  11. October 31, 2009 9:37 pm

    That sandwich is looking fine!

    Eek, that’s a sticky situation with your mom…
    My family knows about the blog, and they’re fine with it. I think my brother thinks it’s a little weird, but oh well. Why would you want to be NORMAL anyhow?;)

  12. October 31, 2009 9:40 pm

    Oh sorry to hear that. My parents know i have a blog – my dad doesn’t really use the internet so he doesn’t look at it but my mom reads it a lot. I know it the beginning it took an awkward few moments of me trying to hurry taking pictures before we ate before my husband got used to all his food being photographed.

  13. November 1, 2009 2:15 am

    I just found your blog and love your pictures.

    My fiance knows about my blog as do a few friends, but most of my family does not.

  14. November 1, 2009 1:13 pm

    i’m sorry to hear about the camera incident, especially since i was just thinking how much I love your photos. keep doing what you love, and hopefully they’ll catch on that you’re good at it!!

  15. November 1, 2009 6:09 pm

    😦 I wish you could talk to your mom about your blog, and that she’ll understand and support you. Plus your photos are amazing. You need to carry your camera wherever you go!

    My family knows about my blog and they’re really supportive. I’m so grateful that I have them!

  16. Peanut Butter Bliss permalink
    November 1, 2009 6:10 pm

    dense bread = total & complete love πŸ™‚

    wow your pictures are just breath taking. love ’em.

  17. Mish permalink
    November 4, 2009 3:54 am

    My family and friends, all of facebook, co-workers know that i have it. I don’t know how much they read and I don’t care. It’s me. Today acutally it backfried a bit when the Ex read my post and e-mailed me. However, it’s my words and frankly I don’t care. I don’t hold back from what I am thinking–most of the time. It’s me in the flesh. Everyone has their thresholds and you have to honour that.

Leave a Reply

