Skip to content

Sweet November.

November 1, 2009

Omg, people. I can’t believe it’s actually November.
Where did this year go??? I still remember this time last year so well!

Yesterday I was a bad blogger and didn’t post. I spent the morning grocery shopping (two new additions to my kitchen.. oat bran and greek yogurt, haven’t tried either for now! can’t wait eheh) and then some good ol’ fashioned clothes shopping. I’ve mentioned here that I’m definitely needing some new clothes. I bought two pairs of jeans, two shirts and one sweater. I’m slowly bulding a new wardrobe, which is awesome. I think my style is a bit more mature now and it feels great to have new pretty things to wear.
In the afternoon I helped my mom clean the house, changed the sheets on my bed, etc etc. Also watched a couple of movies. πŸ™‚

Today I woke up at 8am. Ate a plum, read some blogs (I always wake up to dozens of posts, different timezones suck πŸ˜› ), and then my dad arrived with the real breakfast (BREAD!).

Whole wheat roll with turkey ham. And a glass of low fat milk.

I almost never have these kinds of breakfasts anymore so I thought “Eh, it’s Sunday, what the hell”.

Lunch was a bowl of soup and a pear. I was saving myself for later.. you’ll see why.

Snack was another whole wheat roll (I hate that I LOVE bread so much, but I almost never eat it during the week, that’s my excuse) with some queijo fresco.

Watched some more movies, relaxed and dinner was what I’d been waiting for all day… Chestnuts.
Yep, you heard me.

These are THE thing I crave when it’s this time of the year.
My mom basically adds some anise (I think that’s what it is… damn me and my portuguese language ahah), sea salt, and a cinnamon stick. Yummiest thing ever. It’s a very typical portuguese thing, to eat chestnuts during this month. We even have a day when we celebrate a Saint by eating chestnuts! It’s all about the food eh? Most people prefer them roasted and while I do like them roasted as well, I much prefer the way my mom makes them, which is a very traditional recipe as well, but not what the vendors on the street sell.

I think I love this so much because it’s a special thing. We have this like… 5 times a year? Sometimes more, sometimes less, it depends. But it’s special and we gather around the table and peel them and eat them and it’s just… home. It’s home and safety.
Do you have a food that reminds you of your childhood/your home?

Oh, I totally went back for seconds ahaha. Also ate a weetabix + plain yogurt and a sliced banana.

By the way, thank you all for your kind words on my last post. Things are ok between my mom and I, it was just that thing that happened but we weren’t really mad at each other. I kept taking my pics, as you can see, so everything’s all right. Maybe I’ll try to talk to her and explain the blog and why I do it. Maybe, maybe.

Also, Allison is having a Greek yogurt giveaway so go check it out ok?

So, that’s it. I’m going to keep watching the movie I was watching (Ocean’s Eleven) and then sleep because tomorrow I have a session with the PT (weekend is all fun and good comforting eats and week is all exercise and veggies for me eheh) and in the afternoon I’m going to the doctor.

Hope you’re all having a fantastic sunday. πŸ™‚

Picture of the day

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 10:12 pm

    Oh those chestnuts look great!

  2. November 1, 2009 10:19 pm

    mmm I really need to have some chesnuts. I showed my dad that picture and he was drewling πŸ™‚

  3. November 1, 2009 10:47 pm

    I have to say November has crept up very suddenly. I still feel like Summer should be here.
    I would like to give some blogging advice, don’t feel bad if you can’t blog. I’ve learnt everyone knows you may have a busy schedule and cannot post. I’ve been in the same situation just talk when you can.
    Love your blog.

  4. November 1, 2009 11:19 pm

    I’ve never had chestnuts, can you believe it? I also can’t believe November is already here. It seems like every year goes by faster and faster.

  5. November 2, 2009 1:23 am

    Chestnuts? Roasting on an open fire? πŸ™‚ I have actually never had a chestnut, crazy! I think the food that reminds me of home would have to be..homemade pizza and chili. That’s what we had often growing up, so delicious.

    I also feel like this year has gone by WAY TOO fast. I can remember saying the same thing last year, and I feel like it was just yesterday. I mean, I’ve saving for Christmas already, YIKES!

  6. November 2, 2009 1:56 am

    yum i LOVE chestnuts. reminds me of my childhood, too, b/c my mom would peel them for me. i don’t have the patience now as an adult. ha ha.

  7. November 2, 2009 3:02 am

    You will LOVE Oat Bran! It cooks fast and is great with some nut butter, raisins, a little sweetener, chopped nuts, dates, etc. Plain it tastes like wallpaper paste but add a few items and BOOM it’s fantastic!

  8. November 2, 2009 6:46 am

    Oh my Gosh. I LOVE roasted chestnuts…I miss them so much!
    Food that reminds me of home…kimchi and noodles! That’s what my dad ate every single day, his favorite!

  9. November 2, 2009 12:37 pm

    Yay for the new clothes! I’ll have to buy a more professional wardrobe with the start of my new job. Fun πŸ™‚

    I’ve had chestnuts but they were plain… maybe I should try them snazzed up like yours!?

  10. November 2, 2009 2:44 pm

    You know I’ve never had chestnuts! And now I totally want to. πŸ˜€

  11. lowandbhold permalink
    November 2, 2009 4:20 pm

    I am bread obsessed! I eat it in copious amounts pretty much every day πŸ™‚

    I’ve never had chestnuts, but they sound so good!

  12. November 3, 2009 1:20 am

    So glad to read that you got some Greek yogurt. Can’t wait to see what you think.

    As usual, gorgeous pictures!

  13. November 3, 2009 1:29 am

    Lovely photos! I can’t believe how you make such ordinary food look so special and fantastic.

  14. November 4, 2009 3:34 pm

    YUM…i’ve never had chestnuts before..but these look so good and interesting!

  15. November 14, 2009 7:54 pm

    mmm I really need to have some chesnuts. I showed my dad that picture and he was drewling

Leave a Reply

