Skip to content

Diana wants to cook!

November 10, 2009

Hey everybody!

I didn’t post yesterday because, honestly, when I got home from the gym I was just exhausted! But let’s start from the beggining…

Breakfast was a weetabix biscuit + plain yogurt. I also had some almonds and walnuts.

I had another session with the PT. We (I!) did the usual weight lifting (heavier and heavier weights, I swear he wants to kill me ahah), and a bit of cardio. Yesterday’s workout novelty was the fact that I started running. Intervals on the treadmill. Nothing spectacular but you gotta start somewhere, I guess. πŸ˜‰ Overall I felt great, my arms were BURNING and my legs are pretty sore today. I really love feeling like I had a great workout.

After the gym I came home and had a quick lunch because it was almost 2pm and even though I wasn’t starving I knew I had to eat something.

Leftover squash + LC and a tomato with a bit of olive oil. It isn’t the most good looking lunch, sorry about that. πŸ˜› It was definitely yummy though.

Also had a bit of soup.

And 3 chestnuts (Oh the willpower I had to have to stop at 3. I was proud!).

Snack was blackberry yogurt + weetabix biscuit + banana. It hit the spot!

I didn’t take a photo of dinner but it was grilled turkey with a salad.
Also, look what we bought a couple of weeks ago:

Yeah, we’re crazy. πŸ˜› I still haven’t tried it, my father did. But I may try it soon, while I drink some coffee. I hear it’s the best way.

Anyway, today I woke up extra early (6am) and I was huuungry. I spent half an hour in bed thinking what I’d eat and didn’t come to any conclusions. I got up and went to the kitchen to see if I had a brilliant idea. It was pretty cold and I knew I wasn’t in the mood for yogurt or cold milk so I knew what had to be done. Yeah, you guessed it. Oatmeal!

Oats + water + milk + small banana (not as ripe as it should be but whatever) + a bit of honey + cinnamon
I later added some nuts and flaxseed.

This was AWESOME. Oh my god, it tasted so good.
A few hours later I had a pear. And now I’m thinking about lunch. We’ll see. πŸ™‚

Guys, I need your help!
I have a tub of greek yogurt that needs to be used! So, does anyone know of a recipe (cookies or a cake or whatever you can think of!) that I can make using that yogurt? I’d prefer to keep it simple because I’m such a noob when it comes to cooking/baking. 😳

Well that’s it for now. I’m feeling productive today (and sore) so I’m going to stay home and finish some wedding photos and other business stuff. Also, I have to say this, I am SO GLAD you like my photos. Seriously, your comments make me smile so much.

Here’s today’s photo of the day:

Taken on a very cold day at the beach. πŸ˜›

Hope you all have a great tuesday!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 1:03 pm

    Wow I always want to eat your food – looks great!

  2. November 10, 2009 1:04 pm

    Chocolate and coffee is the best tasting combination ever.
    You could use the yogurt in your oats, just let it cool down a little first.

  3. Nicole permalink
    November 10, 2009 1:23 pm

    99% chocolate! Daaamn girl, you guys are intense.

  4. November 10, 2009 1:33 pm

    Wow, 99% Cacao?? I purchased some last night with 70%, and boy was it good! I’d love to try the 99%, that’s just unheard of! Lots of health benefits there.

    As for your Greek yogurt, what about potato salad? I don’t know of any sweet recipes….maybe there is a recipe that calls for sour cream in a cake, where you could sub the Greek yogurt for the sour cream. I know there are recipes like that out there! I hope sometime provides some help.

  5. November 10, 2009 2:06 pm

    I’d use the yogurt in the way I’d use sour cream in a recipe, probably a cake or some sort of bars. Should be easy to find : )

  6. November 10, 2009 2:37 pm

    Mmm, delicious :). Does anyone have a birthday or some sort of celebration coming up? These greek yogurt cupcakes are divine: http://www.bigcitylittlekitchen.com/2008/05/03/sweet-and-tart-greek-yogurt-cupcakes/

  7. November 10, 2009 2:48 pm

    coffee + really dark chocolate is the BEST! so good.

  8. November 10, 2009 4:01 pm

    Not a recipe for cooking, but my favorite way to eat greek yogurt is with honey, especially if you can get really good honey. It doesn’t take much honey to sweeten the yogurt, and it tastes SO good together!

  9. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 10, 2009 5:06 pm

    99%?? I didn’t even know that existed! You will have to review :o)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  10. November 10, 2009 6:46 pm

    You could make Chana Masala… I have a recipe on my blog somewhere that calls for yogurt, though I don’t know how much.

  11. November 10, 2009 7:46 pm

    I like using Greek yogurt as a pasta sauce just add some veggies, garlic, pasta and you’ve got a quick, easy dinner.

  12. November 10, 2009 7:58 pm

    Psst! You’ll reap the benefits of flax seed if you run the whole seeds through a coffee grinder or food processor…the whole seeds just go right through you and you miss out on the healthy omega-3s!

  13. November 10, 2009 8:56 pm

    I’ve never baked with Greek yogurt. I just like to use the plain kind as a souping for soup or chili…or mixed with blue cheese as a healthier version of the dip.

    That chocolate looks sinful! πŸ™‚

  14. lowandbhold permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:29 pm

    Go to the chobani website they have TONS of awesome recipes and I’m sure any greek yog will work great!

  15. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:58 am

    it’s so funny that you waited an hour before deciding what to eat for breakfast, I can’t wait that long! πŸ˜€
    greek yogurt? just plain with cinnamon is great, if not, a parfait perhaps?

  16. Mish permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:42 am

    You can add to any bread recipe and make the most delicious/moist bread ever. OR strain overnight in cheesecloth and make homemade cream cheese.

  17. November 11, 2009 3:46 am

    I love dark chocolate so much! The darker the better (and it has more flavonoids!).

    VeggieGirl (Liz) has some awesome recipes featuring yogurt.

  18. November 11, 2009 3:50 am

    Greek yogurt is awesome in alot of greek and indian recipes:) Tazik! or Tandoori chicken. ooor eat it plain with dark chocolate and and berries!!! YUM also, greek yogurt makes a great subsitute for wherever you would normally use sour cream! on mexican salads, tacos, ect πŸ™‚

    ps: i love your blog!

  19. November 11, 2009 6:22 am

    maybe make some tzatziki?!

  20. November 11, 2009 3:20 pm

    You started running?! That’s fantastic! πŸ˜€ I’m coveting that 99% dark chocolate. Mmmm I bet it’s fabbolicious.

  21. November 12, 2009 3:42 am

    That’s some serious chocolate there! I don’t know if I could take that straight up…! In a ganache though, that’s a whole different story. πŸ˜‰

  22. November 12, 2009 4:07 am

    Your photos are so beautiful. Are these photos recent? Do you still take lots of photos? Do you have No Pudge Brownies there? It’s just a mix and you combine it with yogurt and bake it. Easy, peasy!

  23. November 12, 2009 8:15 am

    99%?!!! God-damn! that is stong!!

    As for the Greek yogurt…what about some kind of creamy salad? Like tuna, or chicken, or potato, or egg salad…You can also use it as you would use sour cream.

    I love making avocado cream, which is just yogurt, mashed avocado, cumin, pepper, salt, cilantro, and lime juice.

Leave a Reply

