Skip to content

This is the before.

November 12, 2009

Hello everybodyyy!

Can’t believe I missed another day of blogging. Yesterday was such a weird day. I woke up really early, made my awesome delicious oatmeal and went to the doctor.
Well, I have good news! Kinda. I brought all the exams I had done to the gynecologist and she said that everything’s ok! I’m healthy and even my thyroid and hormones are normal. So apparently, the not-having-my-period-for-months thing is simply because… my body’s a little freaked out!
That’s right. The fact that I didn’t really exercise before and that I’ve lost a lot of weight has caused my body to freak out a little.. but everything’s ok. I’m healthy and so relieved. πŸ™‚

I was supposed to go to the gym, I even had my gym bag with me but I got out of the doctor pretty late and I was so close to my mother’s work that I stopped by to tell her the good news. She asked me if I wanted to wait a bit so we could have lunch together. Of course I did. The food kinda sucked but just spending some time with my mom was worth it. πŸ™‚

The rest of the day was spent running errands and working.

Today for breakfast I made oatmeal again (I’m obsessed!).

I went to the gym, came home and started looking for some photos I had on my external hard drive (one of them…).
I came across some old photos of mine and since I’d told you I was going to do a before and after post I started looking for more. So this is it.

September 2007 (Forget the fact that they’re crappy photos).

I was SO surprised when I saw these. It’s like… Who is that person? This was around the time I started my weight loss journey. I was miserable. Miserable. I felt horrible in my own skin.

October 2007

A month later, I’d already dropped some pounds. And look, I STILL HAD BOOBS.

December 2007

These were taken in the school’s photo studio. Filipa and I were working on a project but, of course, we had some fun and took photos of each other too.

I look at these photos and I just remember how insecure this person was. It makes me really sad that I’ve felt like that and I really do not wish it on anybody.

Don’t get me wrong, that Diana knew how to have fun…

and she smiled…

but she was not happy with herself.

Fast forward to November, 2008.

April, 2009.

June, 2009.

July, 2009.

October, 2009.

And October 28th, 2009.

This is the only full body photo I have right now, it’ll have to do. (I’m totally thinking about having a photoshoot soon. Yes?)

You see, two years. Was this a long journey or what? And I’m still improving everyday. For me, honestly, now it isn’t so much about weight loss. I am at a healthy weight (59kg) for my height (1,64m). I just want to be fit now. I’ve been going to the gym for two months and let me tell you… I haven’t lost a whole lot of weight but I’ve already dropped a pant size. This is pretty amazing, I think. πŸ™‚ I also feel stronger and I HAVE MUSCLES. I lift weights and every week I challenge myself with heavier ones. Don’t get me wrong, I still have a lot of progress to make… but who doesn’t? Slowly but surely… I will get there. And I’ll keep challenging myself, even after that.

I’m always saying that I still feel like that fat girl and it’s weird not being overweight anymore. Well, after analyzing these photos I came to this conclusion… eff that. Seriously. All of that nonsense.
I’ve worked for this, I’ve worked VERY HARD for this. I’m not like that anymore. I don’t feel like I felt then, I’m comfortable… And I know why I felt weird. Because I’ve always loathed myself. I really did. So I was not used to not hating myself. But I don’t, now. Because I fought for this, and let me tell you… it was worth it.

If you feel like I did then… please don’t stop trying.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 4:09 pm

    What an amazing transfomation! You should be proud of your hard work!

  2. November 12, 2009 4:26 pm

    Wow, the change is amazing! I think that you look happier and more confident in the “after” photos. Thanks for sharing!

  3. November 12, 2009 5:14 pm

    Wow, your transformation has been great. All the pictures are great, but you look so much happier later on. I hope you’re super proud of yourself!

  4. November 12, 2009 7:47 pm

    Wow! Very inspiring. You should be proud.

    What’s in the oatmeal? It looks great.

  5. November 12, 2009 7:50 pm

    Wow – you’ve come so far. Congrats!

  6. November 12, 2009 9:02 pm

    This is wonderful. How neat that you have the photos to document your weight loss. Congratulations! And YES, I think another photo shoot is in order!! πŸ™‚

  7. November 12, 2009 9:03 pm

    P.S. Thank you for your last comment on my blog—so sweet! Totally made my night πŸ™‚

  8. November 12, 2009 9:13 pm

    You are so beautiful, and have been on quite the beautiful journey. πŸ™‚ You deserve a photo shoot of your own! xoxo

  9. November 12, 2009 9:26 pm

    You look fantastic and you have come a long way. I really enjoyed following your journey. It’s good that your at a healthy weight and are now just concentrating on being healthy and happy. Good for you hun πŸ™‚

  10. lowandbhold permalink
    November 12, 2009 10:01 pm

    Awesome transformation girl! Although the true transformation is just that you feel good in your skin. You were always beautiful!

  11. November 12, 2009 10:41 pm

    you look FANTASTIC πŸ˜€ congrats on your long journey – that is SO impressive! you go girl!

  12. November 12, 2009 11:21 pm

    Wow! Your hard work totally paid-off! I like that it took 2 years because then it seems like it was more stable and healthy! Congrats on the hard work and sharing your healthy choices!

  13. November 12, 2009 11:53 pm

    Congrats to you.. you look fabulous and should feel soo proud! πŸ™‚

  14. November 13, 2009 4:02 am

    Good for you! It’s just as hard to change you on the inside as it is to change the outside.

    2 years if hard work and you’re happy and healthy and living a well balanced life.

    Keep setting more goals for yourself. You’ve already proved you can accomplish so much! πŸ™‚

  15. November 13, 2009 1:34 pm

    Good for you!! That’s amazing. Thanks for sharing your photos with us, you’ve come so far! I wish I would have read some of your posts where you talked about missing your period, as I could have told you that losing weight will do that! But it’s always better to be safe than sorry, glad everything is ok. Keep up the fantastic work!! You’re a huge inspiration to people everywhere who are trying to lose weight.

  16. November 13, 2009 1:50 pm

    You look INCREDIBLE!! You are so inspiring!

  17. November 13, 2009 2:02 pm

    what an awesome post, and yes you DO deserve to be happy. It’s hard work losing weight, and you’ve done it! You should be so proud of what you’ve accomplished.

  18. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 13, 2009 5:02 pm

    Diana, you look great!! Fabulous job on the journey to health, I know it’s not easy! Great post :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  19. November 13, 2009 6:21 pm

    Inspiring and you are SO cute girl! πŸ™‚ Congrats on the weight loss!

  20. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    November 13, 2009 6:55 pm

    congratulations on getting all tests normal! that’s the most important thing in life… be healthy and then fit if it’s possible! πŸ˜€
    hope your period calms down and get back to your life soon! πŸ™‚ (don’t worry it will)

  21. November 13, 2009 11:00 pm

    Hi. Thanks for posting all these photos. You look amazing. You are very beautiful. A true inspiration.

    Thanks you,
    Bearfriend xx

  22. November 14, 2009 2:15 am

    Very inspiring–congrats on your dedication and hard work.

  23. November 14, 2009 3:59 am

    I just found your blog, and I love your photography. So tantalizing! Also, that is a pretty amazing journey. Congratulations, and keep at it!

  24. November 14, 2009 5:36 pm

    What a fantastic post! You are beautiful in ALL of these pictures. I’m glad you don’t feel negatively about yourself anymore. You are inspiring to me.

Trackbacks

  1. Friday the 13th! « Healthy Diana

Leave a Reply

