Skip to content

My vegan failure.

November 19, 2009

Hey guys!

It’s almost dinner time here and I’m only posting now because I spent the day, again, helping my brother and future sister in law, getting things ready. I saw their new apartment for the first time! It’s pretty neat (the owners made some changes so a lot of it is new) and a bit small, but they’re just renting and it’s just the two of them so it’s more than enough. We basically brought almost all of their stuff. Hard work!

I finally have the shoes I’ll be wearing to the wedding and omg, they’re the most beautiful shoes I’ve ever had. Most expensive too. πŸ˜› I’ll have to take pictures to show it to you. Also bought a new coat (I really needed it though, everything I have is huge on me and it makes me look frumpy!) and it’s so pretty and I’m kind of in love with it. Pictures to come!

Today’s food…

Well, let me just start by saying that I really loved Michelles’ and Katys’ idea for Vegan 4 A Day challenge. I really intended to be vegan for the day. And then I failed miserably. But we’ll get to that.

Here’s yesterday’s lunch. It was actually leftovers. There’s some potato, egg, veggies, fish and of course, tomato and onion salad.

My snack was 3 small toasts with queijo fresco and some tea. Also some chestnuts. My god, I can’t resist them…

Dinner was some soup, an apple, 3 toasts with queijo fresco (so original) and two squares of chocolate.

This morning I was all excited because of the Vegan for a day challenge. I used almond milk for the first time!

Yummy banana oatmeal. Always awesome and delicious. Is it me or cow milk is sweeter than almond milk? I didn’t try it by itself so I could be mistaken.

Lunch was stir fry with veggies and seitan and tomato+onion salad.

And that’s where the fail begins. For about a minute I completely forgot about the challenge. I was thinking “What should I have for dessert….”. I was craving something sweet. And guess what I had for dessert? Low fat pineapple yogurt. LOL Yeah, as vegan as they come, right? I put a spoon in my mouth, and it tasted so gooood… and then it was like OH NOES NOT VEGAN ALERT ALERT ALERT. But yeah. I totally ate that yogurt.

I’ll complete the challenge another day because now I REALLY WANT TO DO IT. Failure is not an option! πŸ˜›

Anyway, then the afternoon was spent carrying stuff, etc. I had an apple, a walnut, two squares of chocolate. Then my dad came home and brought some roasted chestnuts with him… of course I had like 4 or 5 ahaha
I still don’t know what I’ll have for dinner but probably something quick and convenient because we’re all pretty tired!

Here’s today’s photo of the day! This is my brother and my future sister in law! Very appropriate, I think, since the last few days have been pretty much about getting everything ready for their wedding. This was from their engagement photoshoot. I really like it because they’re so natural and happy. πŸ™‚

Hope you’re all having an awesome day!
Cya tomorrow!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 9:21 pm

    I intended to do the Vegan for a day too, but with me being AWOL the last couple of days I totally forgot about it.
    Your photo shoot is wonderful I agree I love their naturalness and happiness.

  2. November 19, 2009 9:44 pm

    Yay for finding the right shoes!! πŸ˜€
    Sorry you didn’t do so well on Vegan for a Day, but you have a great attitude for it πŸ™‚

  3. November 19, 2009 11:20 pm

    I’m still going strong on the vegan for a day challenge but I’ve been so busy today I haven’t even really had time for food. We’ll see how dinner goes…

    I love that picture of your brother and his fiancee! Lovely!

  4. November 20, 2009 5:34 am

    LOL that was hilarious about the ice cream!. oh well! that picture is beautiful!

  5. November 20, 2009 12:01 pm

    I think being vegan would be really hard, even for a day. It takes a lot of planning!

    Love the photo of your brother and future SIL…so beautiful!

  6. November 20, 2009 1:10 pm

    Love your blog! The pictures are gorgeous, too. πŸ™‚

    Happy Friday
    xo

  7. November 20, 2009 2:00 pm

    I almost did the same thing with some yogurt πŸ™‚ don’t feel bad!

    that picture of them is beautiful.

    i can’t wait to see your shoes!!

  8. lowandbhold permalink
    November 20, 2009 2:37 pm

    Moving is such a chore! So nice of you to help out though.

    Nothing wrong with not completing the vegan thing. I’m definitely no vegan and one day was enough for me, haha.

  9. November 20, 2009 4:31 pm

    oh man! i can relate! it is so hard! i have failed at so many things these past few weeks! its not our fault!!

  10. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 20, 2009 5:30 pm

    what a gorgeous pic of your brother and sister in law! such a happy time :O).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  11. November 20, 2009 6:53 pm

    I’ve definitely done things like that.. like used chicken broth in a dish and thought it was vegetarian because it was with tofu. Oops. You can definitely be vegan for a day, I’m sure!
    Your photos looks especially good today. Love the pic of your brother and future SIL. They do look very happy πŸ˜€

  12. November 21, 2009 2:56 am

    That oatmeal looks awesome! Your brother and sister in law look SO happy! πŸ™‚

  13. November 22, 2009 4:22 pm

    Can’t wait to see pics from the wedding. That engagement photo is super cute.

    I want to try being a vegetarian for a few days. But I’m not ready to try being a vegan yet!

  14. November 23, 2009 4:19 pm

    Moving is the worst. You were very kind to lend a hand.
    The engagement pic is beautiful. I can’t wait to see what your shoes look like.

  15. November 23, 2009 5:44 pm

    I am not a fan of moving either–blah.

  16. November 24, 2009 3:49 pm

    I wouldn’t stress about it too much. πŸ™‚ You tried it and most of your meals were vegan, except for the yogurt. No biggie. πŸ˜€

  17. November 24, 2009 5:38 pm

    πŸ™‚ keep your chin up! Being vegan is hard! it’s all about balance to me. If I eat healthy 95% of the time than I don’t sweat the small nibbles and treats! Your eats and pic of the day look fabulous!

  18. November 25, 2009 6:02 pm

    Looking forward to pictures of the shoes!

  19. December 8, 2009 1:24 am

    Great photoshoot!

    Can’t pass up CHEESE!

    Music
    Food
    Fitness
    Giveaways
    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

  20. December 10, 2009 9:18 pm

    I’ve missed your posts! I hope you come back soon!

  21. april92 permalink
    January 16, 2010 8:35 am

    Wow, amazing blog..! Your photography is amazing, I’m loving all the bright colours and composition. And I really want to try some of the dishes you’ve posted pictures of.

    My boyfriend and I tried a vegan week but we epic failed.. Partly from his post-workout snack, which was a yoghurt smoothie (“Yoghurt?!?!” I said. “Oh crap,” he said), and partly from our formal dinner, where ‘vegan’ was not an option. Being vegetarian is easy, but it’s difficult to notice and remember everything when you’re trying to be vegan.

  22. January 31, 2010 5:31 pm

    Awesome post this will help me.

Leave a Reply

