Skip to content

Visit to the hospital.

January 25, 2010

Hey everybody! How are things? I hope everything’s ok. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I don’t know if you remember but some time ago I made a post saying that I hadn’t gotten my period in a while.. Well, nothing still.

We’re all a bit worried… sure I don’t miss the bloody thing (ha!) but it isn’t healthy, obviously.

A couple of months ago my doctor told me that if by January 13th it still hadn’t appeared I should go to the hospital so she could look at me again (another exam, yay). So I did go to the hospital and she did another exam. Good news: There’s really nothing wrong with me. I mean, no disease, no cysts, etc. Bad news: My ovaries aren’t working at all. It’s like they’re not even there, basically.

Needless to say.. this freaked me out.

She said that I should stop exercising as much as I do (3/4 times a week for an hour is too much exercise? really?), stop trying to lose weight. It could be that my body is in shock because of the weight loss and exercise because I never REALLY exercised in my life before. Also, to try to stay as calm as possible. She asked if being a photographer was stressful… I joked and said “Only if it’s because I have no work!”. It probably is. lol I honestly don’t know what staying calm means. I don’t do a lot of stuff during the day, most days. So my life is pretty calm in that sense. But my mind is always going at 100km/h because there’s so much I worry about.

I got out of the doctor and cried a little as I was telling my mom what the doctor had said. Ok, some relief because I’m not really sick. But at the same time I’m not healthy am I?
Also, it freaks me out just thinking about stopping the exercise. I’ve fought SO hard for this and now I may have to stop my efforts and risk ruining everything? I’m not ready for that.
But if this doesn’t get solved naturally… I may have to take some medication. And that will royally screw me/my hormones up which may also lead to weight gain..

Ugh, I don’t even know.
Any advice? 😦

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 3:48 pm

    Yikes, sorry to hear this. I don’t really have any remarkable advice to give but do hope that you find the right solution. {{{HUGS}}}

  2. January 25, 2010 11:34 pm

    Hi Diana. Due to weight loss? But you said in the last post you had gained weight over Christmas. And your exercise is in no way excessive.

    Perhaps it is the worrying. Worrying can have a profound effect.

    Are your homone levels being monitored?

    Bearfriend xx

    • January 28, 2010 1:49 pm

      I did gain a couple of pounds during Christmas, but we have to remember that I did lose over 60 pounds before that. It’s all in the context. πŸ˜‰

      Yep, she’s monitoring my hormones and there’s a slight inbalance there too, but it’s a symptom of something else, which is why this thing is a bit weird.

  3. January 26, 2010 1:09 am

    I don’t have any advice except I hope you take this time to enjoy things as much as possible, relax and take lots of deep breaths! πŸ™‚

  4. January 26, 2010 10:19 pm

    Have you thought about getting a second or third opinion?

    • January 28, 2010 1:52 pm

      I have thought about it but I don’t know, since there’s not really anything visibly wrong with me (and I’ve done a lot of tests) I don’t think there’s anything anyone can do about it.. I think it’s just a matter of time now. 😐

  5. February 24, 2010 9:18 pm

    Diana, I’m in the same boat as you are…I do recommend however acupuncture. It helped me a lot. It can get expensive, but it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

