Skip to content

Happy Easter!

April 4, 2010

I am absolutely stuffed.
Easter was spent in family, here. My sister and niece came to have lunch with us, so that was nice. I don’t really celebrate Easter (I’m not religious), but every year we do at least a special Easter lunch because of my mom. It’s important to her and we respect that.

We ate this absolutely delicious lamb my mom made, with some potatoes and rice. And broccoli per my request. Gotta get those veggie servings, right? Even if I ate like crap all day ahah Which I did. And really, besides being a little sick (which I am…), I don’t really regret it. Definitely makes me see that there’s more to life than stuffing yourself silly, and reminds me how great I felt when I was eating in moderation (and pretty much only healthy foods). That’s definitely the way to go and it starts now.
Temperatures are starting to rise and it’s the perfect time to start eating lighter and fresher meals. Smoothies, light soups, salads, wraps, here I come. I’m also thinking about going to the gym more often. 4/5 times a week. I believe that will make all the difference in the world and it will allow me to lose these extra pounds pretty quickly as long as I back it up with some good choices food-wise.

Back to todays’ food!

This was so soft and delicious! My mom marinated it in a bit of red wine, onion, garlic plus some herbs. She kept it overnight in the fridge. Then today, she added a bit of olive oil and left it cooking in the oven for some hours. Delicious I tell ya.

Oven baked potatoes and rice.

Strawberries. I missed strawberries sooo much. I think I’ll be eating many of these in the next months. I love fruit.

Arroz doce (rice pudding). Rice, milk, lemon zest, cinnamon, sugar and egg yolks. Oh dear.

And then there were also Pão de Ló (sort of like sponge cake) and sweet Folar.

All in all, a day well spent. I’m thankful it was the last celebration we’ll have until August. May the healthy(ier) living commence. I can’t wait to start exercising more and eating better, actually!

Hope you’re having (or had, depending where you are!) a great day!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 2:16 am

    That’s nice you guys get together for your mom.

    The rice pudding looks awesome!! 🙂

  2. April 5, 2010 3:12 pm

    The rice pudding and the meat look wonderfull.

    http://polwig.com/

  3. DiningAndDishing permalink
    April 5, 2010 3:22 pm

    Happy Easter (a little late!). Glad to see your back to blogging. I missed your beautiful pics!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  4. April 5, 2010 6:51 pm

    i ADORE rice pudding! yours looks gorgeous…what a dessert!

  5. April 5, 2010 7:09 pm

    beautiful easter pics! love it 🙂

  6. April 5, 2010 10:38 pm

    Mmm i missed strawberries all winter too, but a trip to Costco never fails to replenish my stash!!! HOW do you manage to take such beautiful, artistic, and creatively angled photographs?? Your blog is a pleasure to read!!

  7. actorsdiet permalink
    April 6, 2010 1:04 am

    beautiful pix and presentation!

  8. April 6, 2010 11:49 am

    i feel the same way about this weekend, can’t wait to get back to normal habits! looks like a lovely time 🙂 gorgeous photos, too!

Leave a Reply

