Skip to content

Who loves the sun.

April 6, 2010

I’m feeling pretty great about my choices. I’ve only started eating better yesterday but oh, what a difference it makes. No, no. I haven’t lost the 5 or 6 pounds I’ve gained. No my friends. The difference is in my MOOD. It is one of the best feelings in the world, I think, knowing you are taking care of yourself and nourishing your body with the right kind of foods.

I honestly feel like I’ve been in a food coma since late December and that I just woke up and started living.

Of course I have those moments. When I’m looking at myself in the mirror and think how the hell did I let this happen. But you know what, *eff* that. I made bad choices but it’s not the end of the world. I’m still a perfectly healthy individual and not at all overweight. Yes, my pants are a little tighter… but they’ll get looser again. Not a huge deal. πŸ™‚ Life doesn’t stop because of this. Also, it doesn’t hurt that this totally cute guy was checking me out when I was grocery shopping this weekend. Hell.To.The.YEAH.

ANYWAYS, protein smoothie. Yes. I bought protein powder for the first time last week and yesterday was the first time I used it. I couldn’t really feel the flavor though, maybe I should use a little more next time? I don’t have a food scale right now so I just guesstimated but I’m pretty sure I used less than they say to use. It still tasted great though.
In the blender went:
– Strawberries
– A small banana
– Milk
– Spinach

I do have chia seeds that I could’ve used but I totally forgot. Next tiiiiiime. These will SO be a staple this summer. Hmmm refreshing.
What are your fav smoothie/green monster recipes?!

This was my lunch today. I wanted to keep it light because I’m going to the gym in an hour or so (I’ve already eaten like an hour ago). This wrap had:

– half a tomato
– 2 scrambled eggs
– 1 laughing cow cheese (light)
– spinach

I also munched on half a wrap while I was preparing this. :X

So, I mentioned I’m going to the gym today. It is actually part of a challenge I’m doing to jumpstart this weightloss. I feel like I need to do these little challenges with myself, just to shake things up and shock my body.

a) Drink more water – During the winter drinking water is so complicated. I do drink it but not as much as I should. I’m making a conscious effort to change that now. At least 8 cups of water a day. I probably drink more though. πŸ˜‰

b) Exercise 5-6 times a week. So. This is a biggie. I’ve never EVER done this in my life. The most I’ve exercised was 4 times a week and that was like… once. ahaha SO, this is the challenge.
Today is day two and nothing will keep me from going to that gym and running a bit and lifting some weights. Yesterday I went swimming. Tomorrow I have an appointment with my PT. Thursday I’ll have to go really early because my sister is having surgery in the afternoon but she has to be there by lunchtime and asked me to be there with her. I still don’t know how my friday’s gonna be like but I will make some kind of exercise even if it’s just at home. A video or the treadmill. OR BOTH. The sky’s the limit. πŸ™‚ Weekends are usually my off days but I may sneak in some yoga or something, I’m not sure.

Those are my main challenges for now. I am also eating better and trying to listen more to my body.

Time to get ready to go to the gym. It’s so beautiful outside you guys! I missed you sun.
Have a wonderful day!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 1:31 pm

    Looks great and I love your new header!

  2. April 6, 2010 1:33 pm

    hi again πŸ™‚ Your pictures are so beautiful!

    My favorite green smoothie recipes:

    – milk (almond, soy, whatever), spinach, frozen cherries, almond butter.
    – milk, spinach, 1/2 banana, peanut butter

    your goals sound great!

  3. Taysa (Water, Butter and Wine) permalink
    April 6, 2010 5:45 pm

    I’m an almond milk, spinach, banana, shredded coconut kind of gal.

    I too feel like I’ve been in a food coma since December. It think I can see the end of it though.

  4. April 6, 2010 6:03 pm

    Hey there! Thanks for the comment on my blog about Rocky. He puts me in a good mood, even though the song is so mellow!

    Your pics are gorgeous. It sounds like you are really challenging yourself in terms of exercise, and I think that’s great! Let me know if you find a secret way to exercise 5-6 times a way. I’d love to get on board with that too!

  5. April 6, 2010 6:26 pm

    I think that laughing cow cheese and eggs need to get married! I LOVE that combination! My favorite green smoothie recipe is just spinach, milk, a whole banana, and a scoop of nut butter. So simple and delicious! πŸ™‚

  6. April 6, 2010 7:56 pm

    I love your motivation to be well! Yes, the 5-6 times per week exercise is a big one, very important. I like to break up my workouts and if I only have 30 minutes, I’ll count it as a half of a workout, then maybe I’ll finish that half another day.

    Favorite green monster smoothie: spinach, Amazing grass chocolate, frozen blueberries, half a banana, Truvia and almond milk!

  7. DiningAndDishing permalink
    April 6, 2010 8:19 pm

    I know what you mean…just a day or two of healthy eating can make a huge improvement in mood! Best of luck with your goals :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. April 6, 2010 8:49 pm

    Your goals sound really similar to mine! Let’s do this thang!!!

  9. April 7, 2010 1:03 am

    You have a solid plan and I love it! It’s so great that you are feeling so positive!

  10. April 7, 2010 11:02 am

    I think it’s so true: when we’re well nourished, our brains and bodies work much better. I’ve definitely seen this in many patients/clients during my dietetic internship and even in myself. Best wishes with your lifestyle changes!

    My fave smoothie: kale, peanut butter, almond milk, flax seed, & banana!

  11. April 7, 2010 2:40 pm

    Yep – getting your mood in the right place is half the battle! I miss swimming – my new gym is only equipment 😦

    Happy Hump Day!

  12. lowandbhold permalink
    April 7, 2010 4:46 pm

    I really need to try chia seeds in my green monsters, but I always forget!

    Mine are usually just banana, spinach, almond or soymilk, and vanilla protein powder. Simple, but delicious!

  13. April 7, 2010 5:27 pm

    Oooo I love smoothies!!

  14. April 7, 2010 8:47 pm

    I love this amazingly positive attitude. I’ve eaten pretty clean yesterday and very clean today and I also feel amazing. I think amazing weather + an upcoming vacation also have something to do with this, but I’ll take it! You’re going to rock your challenge. I know it! πŸ˜€
    PS – your photos are spectacular in this post!

  15. April 8, 2010 3:39 am

    I’ve never had a GM before…but my friend who’s obsessed with it loves this blog called Pimp My Protein Shake. You should check it out! πŸ™‚

  16. April 8, 2010 9:00 am

    Great post! I think your goals are great and your positive attitude will change everything. It’s so much easier to live happily if you don’t stress yourself because you “have” to lose weight. A positive mindset is most important for health (I think ;)).

  17. actorsdiet permalink
    April 8, 2010 3:36 pm

    i like a frozen banana, frozen berries, a handful of spinach, and some protein powder

  18. April 8, 2010 8:38 pm

    it’s so true, what a difference a day can make. glad your mood is looking up! great photos, by the way.

  19. lifewithnature permalink
    April 9, 2010 12:19 pm

    I can’t agree more with you about how taking care of ourselves makes us feel so great. As fo my favorite green smoothie, it’s the super easy one I posted not so long ago on my blog. I call it my peanut butter lover green smoothie. It takes only spinach, bananas and peanut butter. Quick, easy, healthy, 100% satisfying.

Leave a Reply

