Skip to content

Sun and flowers.

April 12, 2010

I can’t believe it’s already Monday.. Time goes by way too fast.
I didn’t have a chance to update during the weekend mostly because I wasn’t even on the computer that much.

Saturday morning was spent cleaning the house (my room was a MESS) and walking around in my pjs. My mom got home (from my sisters’ house) at around 11am. At about 1pm mom and dad said they were going to a restaurant for lunch but I wasn’t really in the mood to eat their food. We go to the same restaurant several times a month and the food is pretty good, but I just wanted a simple salad. And that’s what I got.

It was yummy. πŸ™‚
During the afternoon, after cleaning the house some more and going grocery shopping, mom and I went to my sisters’ house to check how she was doing. My brother and sister in law were there while we weren’t. My sister is doing A LOT better, but there are some things that she needs help with. Getting up, lifting some things, etc. Anyway, we got there and just chilled out for a while.

We ended up deciding it was better if she came to out apartment and spent the night here. That way we can take care of our things while we take care of her.

Dinner that day was pretty lackluster. Some fish and veggies. Veggies were good, the fish not so much.
Sunday I woke up early (as I always do) and made breakfast while the others were still sleeping.
Toast with raspberry jam and tea.

Every sunday my mom makes a big pot of soup. It’s usually our dinner that day and the leftoversΒ  can be some of my lunches and/or dinners during the week.

Lunch was grilled turkey and veggies. They ate strawberries, I didn’t. So there’s a bunch of strawberries in the fridge that I can use whenever I feel like it. πŸ™‚

During the afternoon it was so beautiful outside and the women in the house were sick of being inside. We went for a walk around the neighborhood. A veeeeery sloooow walk because the sis can’t walk too fast. πŸ˜› I took some pics!

After that we came back home, relaxed some more (love weekends,Β  right?), snacked (apple, sesame seed bar) and watched some tv.
Dinner was… soup! And a pineapple yogurt for dessert.

So, remember my two goals I talked about last week? The gym one and the water drinking one?
Well, I’m glad to say that even though I went to the gym “only” 4 times last week… it was a success. My original goal was exercising at least 5 times. I think that I did pretty good! Last friday it was just impossible to go to the gym and I never go on the weekends because I like to spend time with the fam. Those 4 days were pretty awesome though. I was in a good mood and actually enjoyed going everyday.
As for the water drinking, I did pretty good too. I now have a water bottle right by my side all the time. It’s easier this way, there’s this constant reminder that I have to drink more. And I find that I don’t think about food as much, this way.
So yeah! Go me. This week, the goals are the same!

Right now it’s 7:15 am. I woke up at 5:50, read blogs and ate breakfast at around 6:30. Weetabix + yogurt + banana + walnuts and almonds. Licked the bowl clean! πŸ™‚
Today I have to stay with my sister till my bro comes pick her up and then it’s gym time.
Let’s get this week started!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 11:02 am

    Oh what gorgeous pictures!!

  2. April 12, 2010 11:21 am

    Hello πŸ™‚ How are you! Such a fabulous blog you have here. Your pictures truly are beautiful (love the one of the flowers). Glad your sister is doing better. I love the Sunday soup tradition. So comforting and soup leftovers are the best. Great job on the goals. I totally find it I have a full bottle of water at all times I drink way more. Enjoy the week

  3. April 12, 2010 11:33 am

    UGGGGGGGGH MONDAY! that salad is so fresh and pretty though! and i ADORE the black flats in that picture! beautiful!!

    congrats on the gym goal- shoot, if I could make it 3 days a week I would be proud of myself. Wait, make that 2.

    happy Monday!

  4. April 12, 2010 11:50 am

    I’m with you and always seem to wake up way before anyone else! Great photos!

  5. April 12, 2010 1:05 pm

    i LOVe that pic of the flats and the nikes up on the coffee table!! so pretty!!

    nice job on the goals!! for h20, I always just make sure there is a water bottle next to me at all times!! it alwways reminds me to keep on drinking!!

  6. lowandbhold permalink
    April 12, 2010 1:21 pm

    Such gorgeous, vibrant colors in this post. Sometimes a simple salad is really all you need in life.

  7. April 12, 2010 1:47 pm

    Your pictures are beautiful! Great photography and I love how you balance life and food. πŸ˜€

  8. April 12, 2010 2:11 pm

    Really lovely pictures- I share your pain though, Monday always comes too quickly!

  9. April 12, 2010 3:16 pm

    I struggle with water too. It’s a weekly battle that I’m determined to win. I also keep a water bottle with me at all times and it seems to be working. The goal is a gallon a day!!! My bladder hates me right now. HA!

    Lovely pictures as always. I’m glad your sister is doing better. πŸ™‚

  10. April 12, 2010 5:44 pm

    your photos are SO vibrant!

    have a great day πŸ˜‰

  11. April 12, 2010 7:04 pm

    I love your gym shoes!! Hope your sister is feeling better too – your Mom is like me – I make lots of soups! πŸ˜€

  12. April 12, 2010 7:18 pm

    I can’t believe it’s Monday either. This past weekend went by way too quickly. Love those beautiful pictures – thanks for sharing them.

  13. April 12, 2010 10:01 pm

    What gorgeous photos! Glad to hear that your sister is doing a little better.
    PS – I LOVE boiled eggs in salads too πŸ™‚

  14. April 13, 2010 2:24 pm

    Hello! I absolutely love your blog and your eats! I just came across your blog and am pretty much hooked! How cute are your shoes?! LOVE THEM!

    xo have a fab day!

  15. April 14, 2010 12:12 am

    Honestly toast and jam is the easiest and best breakfast!

  16. April 14, 2010 1:14 am

    Great job on your goals!

  17. April 14, 2010 2:06 am

    I can’t get over how great your photos are. Are you a photography major?? My goodness, or maybe it’s you camera? I’m so impressed.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. It’s true that Jamie does have a website with great information, I just wish he’d share more tips for the TV audience, I just don’t think there are enough. Isn’t the point of the show to help ALL Americans/viewers? Maybe I haven’t watched it enough. Hopefully more tips and information about eating healthy is on the way.

  18. April 14, 2010 2:32 pm

    your pictures always make me happy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

